Just another WordPress.com site


                                       Bows (~_~) Humble
 


My name is Art, I created the blog, Zendictive, as a result of my notebook falling apart. I needed a place to put a mountain of zen stories that I have collected over the years. I was told, “Art, you need a blog,” so, I found WordPress.
 
The original purpose of collecting these stories was to use them during the cool down periods of a martial arts class. At the end of a strenuous work out the body needs to cool down before going into a different climate (like a can of soda taken from a cooler and set on a table, condensation forms due to the instant climate change.) The body does the same thing, (it is called a cold) so I would have the students sit and meditate while their bodies cooled down. While meditating, I would give them something to meditate on. (Younger student have a hard time sitting still and stories seem to help them stay focused) I planted seeds in their minds that I hoped would grow a garden of wisdom.
 
The motto for Inner Spirit Martial Arts is:
Strengthen the body, Sharpen the mind and Enrich the spirit.
 
My goal is to allow these zen stories to help others grow in a good way and help them to hurtle the obstacles we all encounter in life. So, I collected a lot of zen stories, wrote many my self and tried to give the class a new story every day (rather than tell a handful of stories over and over.) Zen tales give a feel of ancient oriental wisdom which can be alluring and seems to be expected from those who sign up for martial arts. The mind and body both need exercise and fuel to grow correctly. To instill zen in another is, to me, like the phrase “teach a man to fish and you feed them for life.” Instill them with zen and they find peace of mind in life. Teach them about honor and honor will be their guide.
 
Zen is defined as the state of being, enlightenment and (my favorite) is the road one takes in order to be at peace with themself and finding tranquility in the universe. Remember, acceptance is the key to tranquility. The more I learned and read the more I wanted to read and learn. I literally hunt for new, fresh zen tales I haven’t read before (hence, I began creating my own). Poetry, well, that is just a part of me I can not contain. To me, zen became addictive, therefore, I came up with the name, zendictive!
 
My favorite zen tale is the first post on my blog, zendictive, called:
 
enemies of the mind

Additional posts: 

bucket of water (burdens)
(the burdens we carry become heavier the longer we carry them)
 
4 blind men and an elephant
(a story that I feel is important in our world, where so many religions clash)
 
Poetry:
 
writing graciously on angry paper
(a favorite of mine because it was challenging as much as I think it describes most writers)

 
and
 
sound of my breath
(you may have heard the term, “take a deep breath and relax,” that is ‘sound’ advice)


 
If I were to give any one advice on life (lord knows I am no expert) I would quote “The farther ones feet are from the earth, the more distant they become from their true nature.” (Take your shoes off and feel the earth beneath you.) I would also use the phrase “Life is not about finding yourself, life is about creating your self.” Close your eyes and embrace the true you: the heart beating, the veins pounding and the sound of your own breath. Then simply be yourself and simply… be.
                              
(zen: a state of being)
 
zendictive (~_~) bows humble
 
Art~

Comments on: "zendictive (zen is addictive~)" (4)

  1. Well done Art I am glad you have joined choiceposts! Be well be happy!! XX

  2. bows (~_~) humble
    I am honored

  3. :) Yay, Art! :) How cool to have your work highlighted on another site for even more to enjoy Not only is your Zen-ness cool, but you have a great sense of humor and you’re a very talented artist! (LOVED the White Tail Deer!!) Well done!

  4. Love that your wisdom is being shared on a yet another platform. xo

Leave a Reply

